Barry on January 10th, 2007

The latest silly unsolicited e-mail seems to be a phishing expedition that relies on presumably very gullible Credit Union members:

Dear Federal Credit Union account holder,

This is a part of our security service measures, we regularly screen activity in Federal Credit Unions (FCU) network.
We recently noticed the following issue on your account: A recent review of your account determined that we require some additional information from you in order to provide you with our secure services.

Case ID Number: FCU-065-617-349

In accordance with NCUA User Agreement, your account access will remain limited until the issue has been resolved. Unfortunately, if the access to your account remains limited for an extended period of time, it may result in further limitations or eventual account closure. We encourage you to take 3-5 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal account records as soon as possible to help avoid this. We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect you and your account.

Visit the link below and fill out the form on the following page to complete the verification process.

\n
\n
\n

\n

\n

\n

\n

\n

\n

\n
\n\t\t\t\t
\n\t\t\t\t

\n\t\t\t\tWe apologize for any inconvenience. \n

Sincerely, NCUA Account Review Department

\n \n \n \n \n \n\n\n”,0] ); D(["ce"]); //–>

We apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely, NCUA Account Review Department

I should mention that the e-mail appears to be from info@mail.kos-c.jp, that the link from the boxed National Credit Union Administration heading is www.kokoroplanet.jp/NCUA, and I have never had a federal credit union account.  Or maybe I did about 40 years ago.  I didn’t check as to what information I would have been asked for in “the verificastion” process, but if you are curious, feel free.

This stuff seems to be better than promos for penis elongation or little blue pills, or even fortunes to be made from assisting in hiding money from Ghana.  But could ANYONE really fall for this?   Would ANYONE be so stupid as to click the link and provide the requested information?  Are computers and the Internet really so easy to use that users would be so stupid to fall for this? Even if they never had a federal credit union account?

Leave a Reply

You will be able to edit your comment after submitting.